Alban BARBETTE and Damien SANCHEZ 

Alban Barbette and Damien Sanchez welcome you to their gastronomic restaurant  SKAB. You will be offered a refined cuisine, with fresh and seasonal products. Alban and Damien share the same values : a passion for French gastronomy and perfection. 

 Alban BARBETTE

Alban BARBETTE opened the restaurant Skab in Nîmes in October 2012.  

Originally from Vernon (Normandy) he studied hospitality and catering at Louviers (Eure) 

Diploma in his pocket in June 1998 he immediately began his professional life by “integrating a Parisian restaurant that has 2 Michelin stars”. 

A number of starred establishments followed, where  Alban Barbette completed his training and became a Maître d’hôtel and sommelier. He worked with Joël Robuchon, the Pourcel Brothers, Jean Claude Leclerc, Pierre Gagnaire…, Then, he emigrated to Hong Kong, where he spent 5 years as Head Sommelier for the Hong Kong Jockey Club.

Alban was responsible for the management of the wine lists for the many restaurants belonging to the Hong Kong Jockey Club.

Alban oversaw the opening of wine shops and “boosted”commercial activities around prestigious wine estates for the entire HKJC group. 

Back in France and lover of the Gard it is where his desire to undertake and exercise his passion took over.   

 Alban Barbette, created the restaurant SKAB in Nîmes.

Co-manager and partner, Alban is also Sommelier of the gourmet restaurant SKAB.


 

Damien SANCHEZ

Damien SANCHEZ, co-manager and partner, is the head chef of the gourmet restaurant SKAB in Nîmes since April 2014. Born in Nîmes,  he gratuated from Voltaire Professional High School. At the age of 16 he was crowned best apprentice in the Gard. 
At 21, he won second place in the European flavours competition.
In 2011 he was the winner of the Dalméran contest. Amongst the 6 young chef finalists he was the only one to represent the Gard.
Jean François Rouquette the star chef of “Pur’Jean-François Rouquette” located in the Palace Park Hyatt Vendôme in Paris and president of the jury wrote about him : “We awarded the first prize to the young Damien Sanchez… who convinced us by his creativity and his precision as to the food/wine pairings made”. 

Before arriving at the gastronomic restaurant SKAB founded a few years earlier by Alban Barbette, Damien Sanchez had forged his experience with great chefs in gourmet Michelin star restaurants. 
Damien Sanchez was at Le Castellas restaurant, as Jérôme Nutile’s second chef, he also worked at Coutanceau with Christopher  and Richard Coutanceau, at  La Réserve de Beaulieu with Olivier Brulard and at La Cabro d’Or with Michel Hulin…

Back in the Gard, Damien Sanchez continued his career with the gourmet restaurant SKAB ;

At the end of 2014 he won the title of Maître restaurateur to promote the image of a fresh and seasonal cuisine and preaches the “all-homemade”. 

Alban Barbette and Damien Sanchez talk about their job :  

“Our job is our passion ! We wish to offer a pleasant moment for our guests, in front of beautiful and tasty plates highlighted with a good wine. The most important thing for us is the respect of products, seasons, and customer service.”

Alban BARBETTE et Damien SANCHEZ 

Alban Barbette et Damien Sanchez vous accueillent au restaurant gastronomique SKAB à Nîmes. Ils vous proposent une cuisine fine à base de produits frais car Alban et Damien partagent les mêmes valeurs, une passion certaine pour la gastronomie et le travail bien fait.

 Alban BARBETTE

Alban BARBETTE a créé le restaurant gastronomique SKAB à Nîmes en octobre 2012.
Originaire de Vernon c’est à Louviers dans l’Eure qu’il suit ses études en hôtellerie – restauration.
Diplôme en poche en juin 1998 il entame immédiatement sa vie professionnelle en intégrant un restaurant parisien qui arbore 2 étoiles au Michelin.
Suivront divers établissements étoilés où Alban Barbette parfait sa formation et devient maître d’hôtel et sommelier. Il travaillera auprès de Joël Robuchon, des Frères Pourcel, Jean Claude Leclerc, Pierre Gagnaire… Puis, il s’expatrie à Hong Kong, 5 ans en tant que Chef sommelier du Hong Kong Jockey Club.
Alban est responsable de la gestion des cartes des vins des restaurants de l’ensemble du Club. Il encadre l’ouverture de magasins de vins et dynamise les activités commerciales autour de domaines viticoles prestigieux pour tout le groupe.

De retour en France et amoureux du Gard c’est l’envie d’entreprendre et d’exercer sa passion qui prend le dessus, Alban BARBETTE, crée le restaurant SKAB à Nîmes.
Co-gérant et associé, il est également le Sommelier du restaurant gastronomique SKAB.

 

Damien SANCHEZ

Damien SANCHEZ, co-gérant et associé, est le chef de cuisine du restaurant gastronomique SKAB à Nîmes depuis avril 2014. Né à Nîmes et diplômé du Lycée Professionnel Voltaire, il est à 16 ans couronné meilleur apprenti du Gard.
A 21 ans il décroche la deuxième place au concours des saveurs européennes.
En 2011 il sera le lauréat du concours Dalméran. Parmi les 6 jeunes chefs arrivés en finale il sera le seul à représenter le Gard.
Jean François Rouquette le chef étoilé de « Pur’ Jean-François Rouquette » situé au sein du palace Park Hyatt Vendôme à Paris et président du jury écrira à son propos : «Nous avons décerné le premier prix au jeune Damien Sanchez… qui nous a le plus convaincu par sa créativité et sa précision quant aux accords mets / vins réalisés ».
Avant d’arriver au restaurant gastronomique SKAB fondé quelques années plus tôt par Alban Barbette, Damien Sanchez a forgé son expérience auprès de grands chefs dans des restaurants gastronomiques étoilés au Michelin.
Damien Sanchez sera au restaurant Le Castellas le second de cuisine de Jérôme Nutile, il travaillera également au Coutanceau avec Christopher et Richard Coutanceau, à La Réserve de Beaulieu auprès d’Olivier Brulard, à La Cabro d’Or avec Michel Hulin…

De retour dans le Gard, Damien Sanchez continue son chemin au restaurant gastronomique SKAB.
Fin 2014 il décroche le titre de Maître Restaurateur pour promouvoir l’image d’une cuisine fraîche et de saison et prône le « tout fait maison ».

Alban Barbette et Damien Sanchez parlent de leur métier : 

“Notre métier est notre passion ! Nous souhaitons faire passer un moment agréable à nos convives, devant de belles et bonnes assiettes agrémentées d’un bon vin. Le plus important pour nous est le respect des produits, des saisons, et le service du client.”